

## COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

Brussels, 2 February 2010 (04.02) (OR. fr)

5932/10

JUR 57 INST 26 COUR 13

## **COVER NOTE**

from: Mr V. SKOURIS, President of the Court of Justice of the European Union

date: 29 January 2010

to: Mr Miguel Ángel Moratinos, President of the Council of the European Union and

of the Conference of the Representatives of the Governments of the

Member States

No. prev. doc.: 5195/10 JUR 5 INST 2 COUR 1

Subject: Recommendation concerning the composition of the panel provided for in

Article 255 TFEU

Sir,

In accordance with Article 255 TFEU, in my capacity as President of the Court of Justice of the European Union, I hereby submit the recommendation for the composition of the panel referred to in Article 255.

This panel has the task of giving an opinion on candidates' suitability to perform the duties of Judge and Advocate General of the Court of Justice and the General Court before the governments of the Member States make the appointments referred to in Articles 253 TFEU and 254 TFEU. So far as the composition of the panel is concerned, Article 255 TFEU provides that it is to comprise seven persons chosen from among former members of the Court of Justice and the General Court, members of national supreme courts and lawyers of recognised competence, one of whom is to be proposed by the Parliament.

The President of the Parliament has informed me by letter of 21 January 2010 that the Parliament wishes Ms Ana PALACIO VALLELERSUNDI to be appointed as a member of the panel.

5932/10 urq/STC/dr

Rule 3 of the panel's operating rules, which were the subject of the recommendation sent to you on 11 January 2010, provides that the members are to be appointed for a period of four years.

In those circumstances, and taking account of the need to achieve a balanced membership of the panel, both in geographical terms and in terms of representation of the legal systems of the Member States, I propose that the Council appoint the following persons as members of the panel for a period of four years:

- Mr Jean-Marc SAUVÉ, President
- Mr Peter JANN. member
- Lord MANCE, member
- Mr Torben MELCHIOR, member
- Mr Péter PACZOLAY, member
- Ms Ana PALACIO VALLELERSUNDI, member
- Ms Virpi TIILI, member

Mr SAUVÉ is currently Vice-President of the Council of State of the French Republic.

Mr JANN was a Judge at the Court of Justice of the European Communities from 19 January 1995 to 6 October 2009.

Lord MANCE is currently a member of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom.

*Mr MELCHIOR is currently President of the Supreme Court of Denmark.* 

Mr PACZOLAY is currently President of the Constitutional Court of Hungary.

Ms PALACIO VALLELERSUNDI is a lawyer in Madrid and was a Member of the European Parliament between 1994 and 2002.

Ms TIILI was a Judge at the Court of First Instance of the European Communities from 18 January 1995 to 6 October 2009.

For information, I enclose the curricula vitae of the persons referred to above.

Having regard to the professional career of Mr SAUVÉ, I propose that he be appointed President of the panel.

[Complementary close]

Vassilios SKOURIS	

5932/10 urq/STC/dr 2